News & Events


As we continue to take measures in order to prepare for potential COVID-19 in the communities we serve, we want to communicate protocols and processes we are currently following. Our team has been diligently working to stay updated on changes and recommendations in order to communicate the most pertinent information to the public. All actions being taken are done in order to put our employees and patients safety first.

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding COVID Testing 

Can I test out of quarantine?

No, You cannot test out of quarantine.  A negative test only shows you are not infected on the day tested during the 14-day quarantine.  You can still test positive and/or become sick during the 14 days.  According to the CDC, “The incubation period for COVID-19 is thought to extend to 14 days, with a median time of 4-5 days from exposure to symptoms onset.”.

How long will it take after I am exposed to COVID to become sick?

The incubation period—the time between when you’re infected with the virus and when symptoms start—is two to 14 days, with a median of four to five days. Research shows that the vast majority of people infected with the virus will start to show symptoms by about 11 to 12 days.

What are the testing considerations for different patient groups?

While supplies are limited, testing will be reserved for hospitalized patients, employees from vulnerable and high-risk groups (nursing homes, group homes, daycares, public safety, and healthcare workers, educational staff and clergy), emergency room, inpatients, and clinic visits of moderate symptomatic patients.

Who will be tested at Chase County Clinic?

1.  Patients who are experiencing moderate to severe COVID symptoms and if test negative may need to be seen by a Chase County Clinic provider for further evaluation.

2.  Patients who have already made an appointment at the Chase County Clinic and are experiencing sore throat, congestion, fever and other symptoms associated with respiratory illness.  Testing prior to the appointment helps the staff and patient know if another illness may be happening.

3.  Patients who are scheduled for outpatient surgery and it is required by the operating facility. 

Can I request to be tested just to have a test?

We will only be testing those who have made clinic appointments or those who fall into our testing considerations. Those who would like to test but are not having any symptoms are encouraged to schedule a test with  Test Nebraska has scheduled dates and times for testing.  Local sites include McCook, Ogallala, and Imperial.

Where can I get a COVID test without a doctor’s order or being seen in the clinic?

Test Nebraska has testing sites located in the area weekly and are free of charge and can test all family members. You can schedule a testing day and time that fits your schedule at .  Imperial will be a test collection site starting Monday, November 23.  Test collection for Test Nebraska in Imperial will be held on Monday mornings from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. at the ambulance barn.  Check their website for up to date schedule information. (Scheduling has not started so please check the website often)

Do we need to test all of our family members if one has tested positive for COVID-19?

If one family member tests positive for COVID-19 and others start coming down with symptoms you can assume that they are positive with COVID-19 also.  Do not hesitate to call your healthcare provider to review symptoms so that other illnesses are not overlooked.  Family members need to continue to monitor their symptoms and quarantine as directed.

Can someone without symptoms be tested at Chase County Clinic and Hospital?

With a limited number of tests, we are focusing on testing people with moderate to severe symptoms. The emphasis on testing of symptomatic people is designed to find the infected people and the contacts of infected people and reduce the spread of disease. 

What are symptoms of COVID?

Mild symptoms
Most people infected with the virus will have mild respiratory illness symptoms such as nasal congestion, runny nose, and a sore throat. Other symptoms of COVID-19 include:
Low-grade fever (not more than 100 degrees Fahrenheit)
Dry cough
New loss of taste or smell
Gastrointestinal upset, including vomiting and diarrhea
Moderate symptoms
Fever of about 101-102 degrees Fahrenheit
Chills, with repeated shaking
Deep cough
Fatigue and body aches
Muscle pain
General feeling of being unwell
Severe symptoms
All the common symptoms mentioned above along with:
Shortness of breath, even when you’re not exerting yourself
Chest discomfort
Trouble staying awake
Eye problems, such as watery eyes or swollen eyelids
Bluish face/lips (a sign you’re not getting enough oxygen)

What should I do if one of my family members have symptoms and I do not?

You need to isolate the sick member of the family from the healthy ones and avoid contact as much as possible. 

Isolation for COVID patients ends when:
At least 10 days since symptoms first appeared and
At least 24 hours with no fever without fever-reducing medication and
Other symptoms of COVID-19 are improving**Loss of taste and smell may persist for weeks or months after recovery and need not delay the end of isolation?

Isolation or Quarantine: What's the difference?

Quarantine keeps someone who might have been exposed to the virus away from others.

Isolation keeps someone who is infected with the virus away from others, even in their home.

What should I do if I cannot be tested and I have symptoms of COVID?

Stay home. Most people with COVID-19 have mild illness and can recover at home without medical care. Do not leave your home, except to get medical care. Do not visit public areas.
Take care of yourself. Get rest and stay hydrated. Take over-the-counter medicines, such as acetaminophen, to help you feel better.
Stay in touch with your doctor. Call before you get medical care. Be sure to get care if you have trouble breathing, or have any other emergency warning signs, or if you think it is an emergency.
As much as possible, stay in a specific room and away from other people and pets in your home. If possible, you should use a separate bathroom. If you need to be around other people or animals in or outside of the home, wear a mask.
Tell your close contacts that they may have been exposed to COVID-19. An infected person can spread COVID-19 starting 48 hours (or 2 days) before the person has any symptoms or tests positive. By letting your close contacts know they may have been exposed to COVID-19, you are helping to protect everyone.

Know the Facts

It is understandable that you may feel anxious about a potential outbreak. Get the facts from reliable sources to help know your risks so you can take reasonable precautions.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention